#1 2017-04-20 15:31:41

zkean
Member
Registered: 2017-04-20
Posts: 1

AFKW not detecting chat messages.

I set the alert to go off from the message 'You catch an urchin.' just to test it.

These are my settings. https://gyazo.com/5acfda564aad2fa6768fc55e4a20cc4f

I may have the wrong number (0-100) on the right of the trigger message?

No alarm plays ever when an urchin is caught

Offline

#2 2017-04-20 15:58:32

Skillbert
Administrator
Registered: 2014-12-30
Posts: 690

Re: AFKW not detecting chat messages.

The number on the right is the progress towards an alarm after reading this test. 0 gives an empty bar, 100 triggers the alarm, anything in between displays some progress in the progress bar but doesn't trigger any sound.

Offline

#3 2017-04-22 20:10:22

XZeenon
Member
Registered: 2016-07-21
Posts: 17

Re: AFKW not detecting chat messages.

I have the same issue, and mine's set up properly...

http://i.imgur.com/R2Zv0ja.png

Help? It used to work, but I've been having issues with OpenGL working as well as DirectX working. DirectX won't work at all.

Last edited by XZeenon (2017-04-22 20:11:10)

Offline

#4 2017-04-22 22:33:11

Skillbert
Administrator
Registered: 2014-12-30
Posts: 690

Re: AFKW not detecting chat messages.

There are some issues since the last NXT update with detecting the right window as the rs client. Alt1 tends to pin to some hidden window instead of the actual client. You can select the window alt1 is linked to in the capture settings.
xlKPr4J.png

Offline

#5 2017-04-23 00:15:48

XZeenon
Member
Registered: 2016-07-21
Posts: 17

Re: AFKW not detecting chat messages.

Doesn't seem to work...

hDtlvPT.png

tjv3GLf.png



Even if I select it.

Offline

#6 2017-04-23 01:18:53

Skillbert
Administrator
Registered: 2014-12-30
Posts: 690

Re: AFKW not detecting chat messages.

It's very common that directX capture doesn't work. In the NXT client it is more of a coincidence depending on your hardware if it does work. OpenGL should work on all hardware and driver combinations, however it can get messed up by other capture/overlay programs. OBS for example breaks Alt1 OpenGL capture if you start it before Alt1. You should try disabling some capture/overlay programs if you use those. Things like shadowplay/obs/fraps/steam overlay. You have to restart your rs client if you think you found it otherwise it won't help.

Offline

#7 2017-04-23 05:17:06

XZeenon
Member
Registered: 2016-07-21
Posts: 17

Re: AFKW not detecting chat messages.

Skillbert wrote:

It's very common that directX capture doesn't work. In the NXT client it is more of a coincidence depending on your hardware if it does work. OpenGL should work on all hardware and driver combinations, however it can get messed up by other capture/overlay programs. OBS for example breaks Alt1 OpenGL capture if you start it before Alt1. You should try disabling some capture/overlay programs if you use those. Things like shadowplay/obs/fraps/steam overlay. You have to restart your rs client if you think you found it otherwise it won't help.

I have all capture software disabled, but the thing is, before, DirectX would always work, so I'm not sure what's wrong now.. Like, it worked fine with my hardware previously so I'm not sure what happened.

Offline

#8 2017-04-23 12:15:17

Skillbert
Administrator
Registered: 2014-12-30
Posts: 690

Re: AFKW not detecting chat messages.

It depends on what your operating system/drivers think the quickest way from rendering pixel to your screen is. Since NXT uses OpenGL for rendering, DirectX isn't necessarily involved in that. Some driver update could decide that it's quicker to skip the DirectX part. I wouldn't try to tinker with that as no other software is usually concerned with this.

Offline

#9 2017-04-23 23:30:08

XZeenon
Member
Registered: 2016-07-21
Posts: 17

Re: AFKW not detecting chat messages.

Skillbert wrote:

It depends on what your operating system/drivers think the quickest way from rendering pixel to your screen is. Since NXT uses OpenGL for rendering, DirectX isn't necessarily involved in that. Some driver update could decide that it's quicker to skip the DirectX part. I wouldn't try to tinker with that as no other software is usually concerned with this.

I haven't changed my OS or Drivers since the time it used to work.. I'm completely confused as to what the issue is. I'm on Windows 10, and have been ever since I started using Alt1. yikes Any other ideas?

Offline

#10 2017-04-24 23:04:37

XZeenon
Member
Registered: 2016-07-21
Posts: 17

Re: AFKW not detecting chat messages.

Okay, new development. I figured out why DirectX wasn't working. Only works if RS is ran with DirectX, aka run in Compatability mode. So capture works now with DirectX. Now the question is.. Why's it doing this when I press Scan Text?

YVRIm9A.png

Why is all of the text cut off? Even when I manually add the text colors and rescan, it still doesnt pick them up...

Offline

#11 2017-04-24 23:53:12

Skillbert
Administrator
Registered: 2014-12-30
Posts: 690

Re: AFKW not detecting chat messages.

It has trouble with the gaps where the badges are. I made this interface to give a little more insight into what is going on. The problem with these gaps is that it takes a lot of cpu to check the end of each line for those gaps. I still have to make some improvements and maybe hardcode the individual icons, but that takes a lot of time.

Offline

#12 2017-04-25 01:38:26

XZeenon
Member
Registered: 2016-07-21
Posts: 17

Re: AFKW not detecting chat messages.

Skillbert wrote:

It has trouble with the gaps where the badges are. I made this interface to give a little more insight into what is going on. The problem with these gaps is that it takes a lot of cpu to check the end of each line for those gaps. I still have to make some improvements and maybe hardcode the individual icons, but that takes a lot of time.

So any suggestions?

Also this one doesn't have a badge, just a title:
c3JB9hz.png

Last edited by XZeenon (2017-04-25 01:40:26)

Offline

#13 2017-04-26 04:51:08

XZeenon
Member
Registered: 2016-07-21
Posts: 17

Re: AFKW not detecting chat messages.

Skillbert wrote:

It has trouble with the gaps where the badges are. I made this interface to give a little more insight into what is going on. The problem with these gaps is that it takes a lot of cpu to check the end of each line for those gaps. I still have to make some improvements and maybe hardcode the individual icons, but that takes a lot of time.

Re-reading what you wrote, what programming language did you make this in? I would love to be able to try help you. I'm a computer science major and know Java, C#, C++, etc. But I've never tried something like this, but I'd like to give it a shot if possible smile - if you wish for no help, I understand, I can't promise I'll be able to help though but I can sure as hell try.

Last edited by XZeenon (2017-04-26 04:51:21)

Offline

Quick reply

Write your message and submit

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB