#1 2021-02-09 23:19:50

BigRedKev
Member
Registered: 2021-02-09
Posts: 3

Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

As of a few weeks ago Alt1's Runedoku program worked. But I am not sure why it isn't working now. Wether its a Jagex update that messed it up or what not.

I've tried multiple things too fix it, but nothing has worked yet.

Any idea's on how too fix this reading issue/bug?

https://gyazo.com/754962eb1708a3b5ad0930967f8506b1


EDIT: I am unsure how to get screenshot too show in post, sorry. I tried [img]weblink[/img] but nothing.

Last edited by BigRedKev (2021-02-09 23:21:11)

Offline

#2 2021-06-15 17:34:56

Nevik34
Member
Registered: 2021-06-15
Posts: 14

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

I'm getting the same issue both in browser and the overlay, i.e. Failed to read puzzle correctly. to many rune types

Previously, I messed with the RS client graphics settings, and things seemed to work out okay (i.e. lighting, anti aliasing, etc.), however I'm having no luck this go around.

Are there any "Do this first" steps I can check out to maybe get me out of the rut?

https://imgur.com/a/Al9YyHM

Offline

#3 2021-06-15 18:00:17

crazye97
Member
Registered: 2019-03-19
Posts: 223

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

Lower qualities have worked for some, otherwise keep trying boxes until you get one that works. It's a finicky thing that would need to be fixed - because of the way the runes are rendered, they don't exactly match.

Offline

#4 2021-06-16 00:14:07

Nevik34
Member
Registered: 2021-06-15
Posts: 14

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

crazye97 wrote:

Lower qualities have worked for some, otherwise keep trying boxes until you get one that works. It's a finicky thing that would need to be fixed - because of the way the runes are rendered, they don't exactly match.

Would you mind elaborating? I don't quite catch your meaning - is this a problem for others as well? I've had flawless success for months after initial tweaks to the UI settings in the RS3 client

Offline

#5 2021-06-16 01:18:46

crazye97
Member
Registered: 2019-03-19
Posts: 223

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

Multiple people have reported issues since the graphical update last week. I don't believe it's an easy fix, but I'm not the programmer.

Offline

#6 2021-06-19 13:58:09

Vaefyr
Member
Registered: 2021-06-19
Posts: 1

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

Bump

Offline

#7 2021-06-27 17:42:45

Nevik34
Member
Registered: 2021-06-15
Posts: 14

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

Have there been any updates? I've been checking around the forums, and tried reaching out to Skillbert to see if there was potentially room to help contribute; that I can tell, no word back yet. Bump?

Offline

#8 2021-06-28 01:43:45

crazye97
Member
Registered: 2019-03-19
Posts: 223

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

It's still the same. The rendering of the runes has changed, causing it to not always work properly. Try with textures off and lower quality for it to work in the meantime.

Offline

#9 2021-06-28 04:13:11

Nevik34
Member
Registered: 2021-06-15
Posts: 14

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

crazye97 wrote:

It's still the same. The rendering of the runes has changed, causing it to not always work properly. Try with textures off and lower quality for it to work in the meantime.

Have you had any luck with that? I just turned everything off in the game, toggled things around, the new (slightly modified textures, can't begin to imagine why they did that) seem like they're there to stay.

I'm having no luck sadly.

Offline

#10 2021-06-28 06:45:00

crazye97
Member
Registered: 2019-03-19
Posts: 223

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

Honestly, I've had luck without changing anything myself, so I have to go on what's worked for others.

Offline

#11 2021-06-28 22:17:53

Fiend
Member
Registered: 2020-11-24
Posts: 26

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

Skillbert is working a full time job, he can't respond to everything. Especially now, with all these companies needing new software to allow their employees to work from home.

I'm trying to see if I can find a solution to this, in case he doesn't find the time to address this issue. In the meantime, I'd like to remember you of the GE merching tracker, which also broke because of a graphical update.

Offline

#12 2021-07-10 01:41:55

Nevik34
Member
Registered: 2021-06-15
Posts: 14

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

Fiend wrote:

Skillbert is working a full time job, he can't respond to everything. Especially now, with all these companies needing new software to allow their employees to work from home.

I'm trying to see if I can find a solution to this, in case he doesn't find the time to address this issue. In the meantime, I'd like to remember you of the GE merching tracker, which also broke because of a graphical update.

I'm not sure what any of that was supposed to mean.

Do you know if modules like Runeduko are open source? I tried checking out the Git and reaching out, haven't found anything/heard back as of yet. Still unable to get this working adjusting in-game settings, zero clue how others could have a 'works on my machine' experience if the client underwent a graphical update.

Edit: Not sure how I haven't noticed the Development section of the forum until now...time for a bit of spelunking.

Last edited by Nevik34 (2021-07-10 01:48:20)

Offline

#13 2021-07-10 03:52:14

crazye97
Member
Registered: 2019-03-19
Posts: 223

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

You can see the source code of all apps with right-click Inspect.

Offline

#14 2021-07-19 01:35:15

Nevik34
Member
Registered: 2021-06-15
Posts: 14

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

Checking in on this - when I do a bit of debugging it seems like the 'readpuzzle' func is returning the empty spaces (i.e. not the runes within the grid). Was the coloring of the grid one color previously (instead of orange/yellow)? Can't say I noticed that detail before.

If the coloring got updated, could the sensitivity of the skips in 'readRune' need some tweaking for their RGB values (I'm assuming that's what is going on there)

function readRune(buf, x, y) {

    . . . .

	for (var x = 0; x < runebuf.width; x++) {
		for (var y = 0; y < runebuf.height; y++) {
			var i = y * runebuf.width * 4 + x * 4;
			var skip = false;
			skip = skip || runebuf.comparePixel(x, y, 68, 0, 0) <= 10; // border of puzzle?
			skip = skip || runebuf.comparePixel(x, y, 250, 153, 7) <= 10; // orange (tiles?)
			skip = skip || runebuf.comparePixel(x, y, 233, 192, 1) <= 10; // yellow (tiles?)

   . . . .

Last edited by Nevik34 (2021-07-19 01:41:47)

Offline

#15 2021-07-27 23:43:28

Nevik34
Member
Registered: 2021-06-15
Posts: 14

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

Bumping this again - not entirely sure how to edit/test if I'm in the ballpark of what's changed here (i.e. not yet confident I can tweak this) can anyone help? Very much been missing this feature for weeks

Offline

#16 2021-09-19 21:51:02

jay37mack37
Member
Registered: 2021-09-19
Posts: 1

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

My Runedoku wasn't working, was getting Failed to read puzzle correctly.
Turned off
-Texures
-Anti-Aliasing
-Anisotropic Filtering

and its working now smile

Offline

#17 2021-09-23 02:44:36

Nevik34
Member
Registered: 2021-06-15
Posts: 14

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

For those of us that still can't get it to inexplicably function by turning settings on/off (covered above), is there anyone capable/willing to take a look? Is this just a dead app in the Alt1 suite now?

Offline

#18 2021-09-23 17:28:24

Skillbert
Administrator
Registered: 2014-12-30
Posts: 1,057

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

I checked it again today and apparently the problem was that the runes are slightly offset by a pixel at random now for some reason. It should now be working again.

Offline

#19 2021-10-14 22:11:50

Nevik34
Member
Registered: 2021-06-15
Posts: 14

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

Thank you!!

Offline

#20 2022-04-25 15:56:11

fenix69
Member
Registered: 2022-04-25
Posts: 1

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

Started today, runedoku has stopped working again. must of had something to do with the event ending or something.

Offline

#21 2022-05-01 01:16:48

PapaLokiWolf
Member
Registered: 2022-05-01
Posts: 7

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

I have been having issues with runedoku, "failed to read puzzle, too many rune types error",  having issues with Afk warden with alerts on blessing of gods and seren spirts not activating. I have rebuilt the profiles, changed to different alarms sounds. I have also uninstalled and reinstalled ALT1, and deleted and rebuilt Runescape cache folder. I have also gone into graphic settings and dropped everything to minimums by step by step downgrade. and checked to make sure my fonts on pc are not set beyond 100%.

Everything was working until the update this week.

https://i.imgur.com/RORxAG8.png

Last edited by PapaLokiWolf (2022-05-01 01:17:09)

Offline

#22 2022-05-01 01:20:06

crazye97
Member
Registered: 2019-03-19
Posts: 223

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

This has been reported by a few people this week. It currently has not been resolved.

Your text issues shouldn't be an issue - but I'd need to see that.

Last edited by crazye97 (2022-05-01 01:21:12)

Offline

#23 2022-05-03 15:52:12

Nevik34
Member
Registered: 2021-06-15
Posts: 14

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

I don't look at them all that closely usually, but is there a shadow on the right side of the rune selection runes now?
https://imgur.com/a/pKDWYm2

Last edited by Nevik34 (2022-05-03 15:52:34)

Offline

#24 2022-05-06 20:36:33

egohaus
Member
Registered: 2022-05-06
Posts: 1

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

Fixed all the issues I had with the solver by replacing the readRune function logic with resemble.js library comparison and the solve function with sudoku.js solve function. Hardcoding the runeimgs in order from mind to law also makes the solver less annoying to use.

Offline

#25 2022-05-13 09:22:01

elvellon_elendil
Member
Registered: 2022-05-13
Posts: 1

Re: Alt1 Runedoku Not Working

egohaus wrote:

Fixed all the issues I had with the solver by replacing the readRune function logic with resemble.js library comparison and the solve function with sudoku.js solve function. Hardcoding the runeimgs in order from mind to law also makes the solver less annoying to use.

Care to share your code?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB